The World Association of Chefs' Societies, or Worldchefs in short, is a global network of chefs associations first founded in October 1928 at the Sorbonne in Paris. At that first congress there were 65 delegates from 17 countries, representing 36 national and international associations, and the venerable August Escoffier was named the first Honorary President of Worldchefs.

Today, this global body has 100 official chefs associations as members that represent over 10 million professional chefs worldwide. The biennial congress is a hallmark tradition of Worldchefs and has been organised in over 20 cities across the world throughout its illustrious 82-year history.


The World Association of Chefs' Societies (Worldchefs) is a non-political professional organization, dedicated to maintaining and improving the culinary standards of global cuisines.

We accomplish these goals through education, training and professional development of our international membership. As an authority and opinion leader on food, Worldchefs represents a global voice on all issues related to the culinary profession.

To learn more about Worldchefs visit

Congress Committee


Worldchefs President


Worldchefs Congress Chairman


Worldchefs Managing Director


Special Advisor -2018 Congress

Charles M. CARROLL

Member of Congress Committee


Chef Chern Chee Hoong, President of Chefs Association of Malaysia & Executive Pastry Chef at Cilantro Culinary Academy Chef KK Yau, Secretary General of Chefs Association of Malaysia & Executive Chef at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur



The birth of the cooking fraternity started in 1974 by a group of expatriate chefs and in 1986 it was officially registered under the name Persatuan Toques Blanches meaning 'white hat' in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. The founders were Fritz Tschantre (President), Heinz Gezer, Aderiano Elam, Werner Meyer, Rolland Sollberger and Lawrence Pok.

As the grouping grew, in 1988 the name Persatuan Toques Blanches was officially changed to The Chefs Association of Malaysia with new aims and objects grouping culinary professionals in Malaysia, fostering better information and communications. Since then seminars and training sessions were embarked, and culinary competition were organized to hone the skills of chefs in the country. Culainaire Malaysia, the main national culinary competition since its inception in 1992 collaborating with the Malaysian Association of Hotels and Malaysian Food and Beverage Executive Association.

In 1987, Malaysian delegates to IGEHO Basel-Salon Culinaire Mondial, Switzerland lead by Chef Werner Meyer whose achievements placed Malaysia on the culinary map. Year 1994, the merger of the Penang Hotel Chefs Association and The Chefs Association were formalized during the helm of Terence Lim and advisor Rick Chee. The association also acquired its own premise in the year 2004. Past president serving the association were Arthur Heng, K.K. Yau, Federico Micheleto and Johari Edrus.

The current President, Chern Chee Hoong was instrumental in creating the Youth Chefs Club and Pastry Alliance in Malaysia. The association also collaborated with the Ministry of Tourism in events and programmes in the elevation of the hospitality industry in Malaysia; Food and Fruit Fiesta, Food Promotion trip too many countries.

The association work with many colleges namely, Taylor University, KDU University College, Segi College, KLMU, on consultation on examination of students. Recent Won Accolades are Gold medal in salon Culinaire Mondial 2013 in Switzerland, World Pastry Cup in Pastry, 4th Placing. Corporate Social Responsibility was also enhanced by working with the Food Aid Foundation in providing food to the needy and under privileged.